The Jubilation Education Scholarship was established in May 2005. Gwen Nelson Fleming, an NJPAC employee, and member of Rev. Stef and Jubilation, was an articulate, bubbly, exciting, and INCREDIBLE talent. Gwen always exuded tremendous SPIRIT and JOY!  Her untimely passing devastated us. Ed Fleming (Gwen’s husband) made the initial contribution to honor Gwen’s memory by providing funds for deserving young people majoring in the Performing Arts. An award was created and named the “Gwen Nelson Fleming Scholarship”. As other Jubilation members transitioned, the scholarship was expanded to honor ALL fallen members. To date, the Jubilation Education Scholarship Fund has greatly blessed worthy young people in the New Jersey area. Interested students may obtain the application and info on our website:

The fallen members listed below provided a rich cultural contribution and a continuing spirit that will never die! The “JES” is awarded in their memory.

​Louise Bethune (Alto); Beverly Byron (Alto); Ruth Dargan  (Tenor); David Davis  (Male Alto); Gwen Nelson Fleming (Alto); Donna Franklin (Soprano); Rev. Dr. William C. Hall (Spiritual Advisor); Essie Harris (Alto); Cyndi Hines (Soprano); Joyce (J.J.) Jones  (Tenor); Robert Jefferson (Artist Assistant); Juanzel Rennick (Tenor); April Loi Knight (Alto); Lois McPherson (Soprano); Pearl T. Minatee (Honorary Member); Kevin Parker (Musician); William L. Pearson III (Tenor); Isadell Riley (Soprano); Ella Spears (Soprano); Ruth Walden (Soprano); Rev. Dr. Lawrence C. Roberts (Spiritual Advisor); Shirley Smith-Clax  (Soprano); Ella Spears (Soprano); Elder Charles A. Stewart (Asst. Director/Tenor); The Honorable Donald K. Tucker (Charter Member); Esther Williams (Soprano)

 Our Past Awardees:
 2015:  Chevan Thomas – Rutgers University, Mason Gross

 2013:  Justin R. Brown – Westminster Choir College;  Amani Cole-Felder – Westminster Choir College;  Emani Simpson – Kean University

 2011: Shalanda Jackson, Westminster Choir College;  Joseph Minatee, Kean University;  Tiana Smith, Morgan State University

 2009: Jocilyn Daniels, Benedict College 

 2008: Kenneth Ellerbee, Westminster Choir College

 2007: Jared McClain, Hampton University